world-class experts judging the work

Each year, more than 300 members of the creative communications industries are invited to Cannes Lions to serve on the juries. They consider and award all the work that is entered into the Festival. To make sure that each piece of work is evaluated in an independent manner, the Festival follows a rigorous jury selection procedure. 

The Festival’s global network of representatives is the first step in this process. These local representatives send us nominations for each jury place from their country. How many jury places a country gets is determined by the success of that country in winning Lions in the previous years, cross-referenced against the number of entries made by that country. All judges must be award-winning and representative of countries that are entering Cannes Lions.

Once these nominations are all in, Cannes Lions selects the judges, ensuring that each jury contains an even balance of members from around the world, from each gender and from a representative spread of agencies – independents and from networks.

The presidents in 2014 are:

David Sable
Susan Bond

Branded Content & Entertainment Lions Jury President
Doug Scott
President, Founder, OgilvyEntertainment

Creative Effectiveness Lions Jury President
David Sable
Global Chief Executive Officer

Cyber Lions Jury President
Susan Bonds
Co-founder, CEO
42 Entertainment, USA

Design Lions Jury President
Karl Heiselman
Global Chief Executive Officer
Wolff Olins

Amir Kassai

Direct Lions Jury President
James McGrath
Creative Chairman
Clemenger BBDO Group, Australia

Film Lions Jury President

Amir Kassaei
Chief Creative Officer
DDB Worldwide

Film Craft Lions
Brian Carmody
Co-Founder, Managing Partner

Innovation Lions Jury President

Tom Bedecarré
Chairman, AKQA
President, WPP Ventures 

Media Lions Jury President

Matt Seiler
Global CEO
IPG Mediabrands 

Mobile Lions Jury President
Jaime Robinson
Executive Creative Director
Pereira & O’Dell, USA 

Outdoor Lions Jury President

José Miguel Sokoloff
President, Lowe Global Creative Council
Co-Chairman, CCO, Lowe SSP3 Colombia

PR Lions Jury President
Renee Wilson
President North America

Press Lions Jury President
Rémi Babinet
Founder, Creative Director
BETC, France

Product Design Lions Jury President
Dong-Hoon Chang
Samsung Electronics, South Korea

Promo & Activation Lions Jury President
Susan Credle
Chief Creative Officer
Leo Burnett, USA 

Radio Lions Jury President
Tony Hertz
Proprietor, Creative Director
Tony Hertz: Radio & Brand Sound, The Philippines

Titanium and Integrated Lions Jury President

Prasoon Joshi
Chairman, CEO, Chief Creative Officer, India & South Asia
McCann Worldgroup